NBTA's Tournament of Champions


October 21-23 San Francisco, CA


This year, Berkeley Law will host the National Board of Trial Advocacy Tournament of Champions, one of the premier law school trial competitions in the nation. The competition will be held Oct. 21-23, 2016, at the Phillip Burton Federal Building in San Francisco.

We need experienced judges and practitioners to serve as judges and evaluators for the competition. Judges will preside over the trials while evaluators will assess the advocacy of the students and teams. Evaluators will be asked to score the teams on the basis of their trial skills, as demonstrated in direct and cross-examinations of witnesses, handling of exhibits, use and argument of objections, and arguments to the jury.

About the Tournament of Champions
In 1989, Professor Charles E. “Chuck” Kirkwood, of the University of Akron School of Law, hosted the first Tournament of Champions Trial Competition. He invited the best trial advocacy law schools in the nation. Invitations were based on performance over the years in two “open” student trial competitions: the National Trial Competition and the American Association for Justice (AAJ) National Student Trial Advocacy Competition. The tournament was informal and fun, with a focus on outstanding trial advocacy skills.

Today, the tournament is one of the premier law school trial competitions in the nation and is known for having the highest quality of congeniality and good sportsmanship. Each year, 16 schools are invited. The invitations are based on a three-year performance record at the National trial Competition and the AAJ National Student Trial Advocacy Competition, and performances at prior Tournament of Champions competition.


Click here to learn more about

participating as a Judge or an Evaluator

2016 Participating Law Schools

Yale Law School
Syracuse University College of Law
Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
Wake Forest University School of Law
Baylor Law School
University of Akron School of Law
IIT Chicago Kent College of Law
Washington University College of Law, St. Louis
Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
University of Colorado School of Law
Stetson University College of Law
Samford University Cumberland School of Law
Loyola University Chicago School of Law
California Western School of Law
Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law
Harvard University School of Law